Modes of Operation


There are five main shooting modes on most DSLR cameras: Auto, Program, Shutter-Priority, Aperture-Priority and Manual. In Auto, the camera controls everything to, theoretically, keep your photos mistake-free. In Program, the camera still automatically adjusts aperture and shutter speed, but the photographer can choose from several combinations that will produce the same exposure. Shutter-Priority allows the photographer to control the shutter speed while the camera adjusts aperture, and Aperture-Priority does the opposite of that. Manual leaves the photographer in full control of both aperture and shutter speed. Our advice: Move the dial off of Auto and start to explore your creativity.